Poetry of Love, Resistance, & Solidarity

121. This Day

If this day should be my last,

it has been a satisfaction:

coffee climbing the percolator’s stem,

blue smell of plums,

sunlight fueling an orange.

At dusk, a crow calls and calls my name,

night subtracting its wings.

–Jo McDougall

Jo McDougall lives in Leawood, Kansas. She’s Associate Professor Emeritus of English, Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, Kansas. Author of five books of poetry and two chapbooks, her memoir, Daddy’s Money: a Memoir of Farm and Family, is forthcoming in June 2011 from the University of Arkansas Press.

Comments on: "121. This Day" (4)

  1. Very nicely done. I watched a Nature show last night on crows. It spoke of their language skills… I can imagine one calling your name.

  2. Thank you for sharing this

  3. claudia said:

    Although I am a tea drinker, I loved the line with “coffee climbing the percolator’s stem”!
    Also so glad I got your book at PSU reading…it is wonderful. Moved me in so many ways and thoughts of it still linger in my mind! Wish my own years at PSU had included your influence….

  4. Rick Nichols said:

    This piece aptly reminds all of us not to overlook the simple joys in life, to see blessings among the commonplace.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud