Poetry of Love, Resistance, & Solidarity

If you should precede meWyatt Townley Headshot (color)

if you cross the line

after which no shoes are required

if you grow out of your clothes

before I grow out of mine

and enter the atmosphere I breathe

I will hunt you down eyes closed

every day every night every

breath one breath closer I

will take you in breathe you out

a cosmic CPR

on the couch in the car

in the woods in bed

for if you should precede me

you’ll be in front of me forever

ahead of everywhere

I turn as I push off

to the word ahead of this one

~ Wyatt Townley

Wyatt Townley’s books of poems include The Breathing Field (Little, Brown), Perfectly Normal (The Smith), and her latest, The Afterlives of Trees (Woodley), a Kansas Notable Book and winner of the Nelson Award, completed with a fellowship from the Kansas Arts Commission and just nominated for the Pushcart Prize. (www.WyattTownley.com)

from The Afterlives of Trees by Wyatt Townley (Woodley Press, 2011)

Comments on: "Ahead of Everywhere by Wyatt Townley" (3)

  1. Reblogged this on yasniger and commented:
    Very interesting

  2. Patricia Traxler said:

    Beautiful & powerful, Wyatt.

  3. J Mills said:

    My cousin in Topeka who is “ahead of me forever” must have really liked this – she had this read at her Memorial Service. I like it too! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud