Poetry of Love, Resistance, & Solidarity

Crabtree Head shot - 12%Time is the substance of which I am made. Time . . . is a fire that consumes me, but I am the fire.

Jorge Luis Borges

 

Time, you race car driver, you

careen around corners

and neverslowdown not

for tsunamis or earthquakes

oil slicks or fever blisters

or swamis dancing on nails

not even for the slow lick

of ice cream sweet

in the throat

 

you make me think

I’m here to cheer you on

to wave at your daring

from the stands

but with each lap more

of you disappears

I flag you yellow you

check you but

you speed faster still

 

you sweep me in seconds leave

me covered in dust birthdays

and funerals whiz by, wars

and uprisings your trail of debris

all that jetsam of history

and I hold aloft the only trophy

my consolation prize

the privilege of watching

my own life speed by

~ Maril Crabtree

-previously published in Tying the Light (Finishing Line Press, 2014)

Maril Crabtree married a Kansas boy five decades ago and considers herself a full-bred Kansan by now. She writes poetry and creative nonfiction and is a former poetry editor for Kansas City Voices. Her latest chapbook is Tying the Light (2014).

Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, guest editor for Dec., is the 2009-13 Kansas Poet Laureate, author or editor of 19 books, and founder of Transformative Language Arts at Goddard College, where she teaches. More on her here.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud