A Poem by Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg

This Body



I’m a fact, a series of toes 
accented with slates of toenails,
and a ripple of blue branches leading
wrist to knuckles, each an island 
of bone-hiding lines and codes.
I’m also a tilted neck enmeshed
with a disappearing chin, 
a happy camper, and a total ass.

My brain is wine-stained without
drinking any wine, heavy with 
just-picked apples of urgencies
or distracted rightfully by blue
wings disappearing into the cedars
of the tail winds I breathe. I’m this
and the imprint of holding newborns
while the ice outside cracks off branches
and I fall asleep again crookedly.

I’m one working eye and a companion 
riding blind, together taking in the chlorophyll
like the yellowing leaves, all parts of us 
appreciating what will fall. I’m still
a matched set of thighs wanting to hold 
golden secrets between them, an assemblage 
of kneecaps with complementary saucers, 
and shoulders ready for lift up or collapse 
around my shamed heart. I used to be
a mixed set of breasts but they left the building
for the sake of the company’s bottom line.

Under the skin, nothing is symmetrical
balancing on the juggling spine along with
all the water and capillaries branching
their necessary roadways to the heart
while the real trees crested overhead laugh 
like they own me, which they will one day.

Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, Ph.D., the 2009-13Kansas Poet Laureate is the author of 23 books, including Miriam’s Well, a novel; Everyday Magic: A Field Guide to the Mundane and Miraculous, and Following the Curve, poetry. Her previous work includes The Divorce Girl, a novel; Needle in the Bone, a non-fiction book on the Holocaust; The Sky Begins At Your Feet, a bioregional memoir on cancer and community; and six poetry collections, including the award-winning Chasing Weather with photographer Stephen Locke. Founder of Transformative Language Arts at Goddard College, Mirriam-Goldberg also leads writing workshops widely.

Leave a comment