Two Poems by Ruth Farmer

Lifting the Veil

I stand in a forest, a dense gray cloud over my shoulder,
a bridge before me, a light at the opposite end.

The light transforms from steady yellow to red, 
blue, green flashing, morphs into a human form.

I want to cross, yet each time I step onto it,
the bridge buckles. At one point it collapses. I dangle.
 
Over and over, my mind rebuilds the short wooden span 
perched over a roiling river that I am determined to cross.
 
The indigo shape walks toward me, knowing I’m afraid 
the bridge will collapse again. We meet halfway. It lifts me.

Like bride and groom we laughingly move 
toward the other side. Before stepping off together, 

our minds connect. I say, I have to finish this journey 
on my own. I did. The bridge held.

My friend greeted me as I reached the other side. 
It has been a constant companion, a shining body. 

Sometimes I’m happy, sometimes not, but always 
the light is with me and always I am free.


I Dream of Pyramids

Tombs that open to reveal
dusty riches, cobwebs of civilizations
I can never know, diamonds
mined just for me.

When I look into clouds I see
faces that frighten with their
grand size and smooth placid
demeanors. I am used to
eagle talons and frizzled tresses.
The birds have whispered legends to me.
I know now I should have listened.

I dream of treasures as I swim
beneath blue oceans where I am the only
fish buried then revived, the red clay still
clumped to my locks but only those looking 
can tell I can breathe underwater.

I am a resurrection, a reflection
of past memories, an amnesiac
chased across millennia, running
from my own stories. When I stop
catch my breath, still my palpitating
heart, I hear an unrecognizable voice
saying things I cannot, will not, dare not
decipher or the ignorance which
has kept me safe will explode
revealing a universe filled
with galaxies starred by truths
that open my eyes, cure my deafness,
bring my voice to life.


Ruth Farmer is a poet, essayist, and fiction writer. Ruth’s prose and poetry appear in various publications, including her blog, ruthfarmer.com. Her most recent book is a collection of poems, Snapshots of the Wind (Rolling Moon Press, 2022). Ruth lives in Bristol, Vermont.

Photo by Stephen Locke

Guest Editor Caryn Mirriam-Goldberg, the 2009-13 Kansas Poet Laureate is the author of 24 books, including How Time Moves: New & Selected Poems; Miriam’s Well, a novel; and The Sky Begins At Your Feet: A Memoir on Cancer, Community, and Coming Home to the Body. Founder of Transformative Language Arts, she is offers writing workshops, coaching, and collaborative projects YourRightLivelihood.com with Kathryn Lorenzen, Bravevoice.com with Kelley Hunt, and TheArtofFacilitation.net with Joy Roulier Sawyer. CarynMirriamGoldberg.com.

Leave a comment